Dynamic Knight duo strikes again


Robison and Irwin’s award-winning headline design as it appears in the 2018 Knight.

The Quill and Scroll International Honor Society has named sophomore Abby Robison and junior Ella Irwin as the sole sweepstakes winners among Class A (large) schools in the Headline Writing and Design category of the 2018 Quill and Scroll Yearbook Excellence Contest.

Design by Ella Irwin and Abby Robison
The headline design was part of Robison and Irwin’s page covering Spectrum, a campus group that provides a safe space for LGBTQ+ students and their allies.

Robison and Irwin won first place in the country for their headline design, “Showing their PRIDE,” that accompanied the yearbook spread about Spectrum, an organization that provides a safe space for LGBTQ+ students and their allies. In explaining why “Showing their PRIDE” won first place, the Quill and Scroll judge wrote: “Great use of spot color in typography to accentuate “pride” as [the] keyword in [the] headline. Strong visual-verbal package. Great job.”

Robison and Irwin were MacJournalism’s only sweepstakes winner but not the only yearbook staffers who earned recognition in the competition.

Olsen has taken her considerable talents to the University of Montana where she has found plenty of worthy things to photograph.

2018 managing editor Madison Olsen earned second place in the nation among large schools in the Clubs and Organizations Photo category for her photo, ““Pink’d Out” that captured PALS members Anna McGuire, Jasmine Skloss-Harrison and Abraham Dietz colliding in midair while reaching to catch a water balloon as it bursts during the Pink Wink PAL-lery on Oct. 12, 2017.

Madison Olsen
Reaching for a launched water balloon, Anna McGuire, Jasmine Skloss-Harrison and Abraham Dietz collide during the PALlery on Thursday. “It felt like I was part of a community in a way I haven’t felt before at McCallum,” Skloss-Harrison said. Photo by Madison Olsen.

To explain Olsen’s award, the Quill and Scroll judge wrote, “The action and expression combine to make this a strong storytelling moment. … It is an image with feeling – always a good thing!”

McCallum’s other Quill and Scroll winners earned Gold Keys for being selected as honorable mention winners.

Madison Olsen
Members of the swim team become cheerleaders in order to urge sophomore Cole Kershner to pick up the pace in the anchor leg of the 4×100 freestyle relay last night at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center. Kershner’s team had built a huge lead, and he had slowed down to make the finish interesting. Despite Kershner’s gamesmanship, his team won the relay. Coach Courtney Long had created the makeshift Mac relay teams at the meet because it was a dual meet with Ann Richards and the boys had no competition to swim against. The girls did compete and defeated the swimming Stars at the meet. Photo by Madison Olsen.

Madison Olsen
MAKING IT RAIN ON THE RAIDERS: At the homecoming pep rally on Nov. 10, the senior section generates the deafening volume that would soon win the coveted Spirit Stick for their class. At the conclusion of the pep rally, students showered the class of 2018 with cups of glitter and confetti. “I support my school in everything that I can,” senior Charliee Arnold said. “It was so much fun to get to throw confetti and show school spirit with my senior class, until we had to clean it all up.” Photo by Madison Olsen.

Olsen won in three other photo categories: feature photo (for “Happy Hee,” a candid photo of trainers Rally Telano and Leah Cantu), sports action photo (for “Just Keep Swimming,” of swim team members urging Cole Kershner to finish strong in an intrasquad relay race at UT) and student life photo (for “Making it rain on the raiders,” of the senior section winning the spirit stick as it is showered with confetti during the 2017 homecoming pep rally).

Lily McCormick
Senior Sophia Bastidas and her teammates gather together after winning their first two set against LBJ 25-23 and 29-27, losing the third set, 25-21, and finishing out winning the fourth set, 25-22. This put the Lady Knights at 2-0 in district, “I used to be a right side a few years back, and I definitely prefer playing outside hitter now, I’d say it’s my dream position,” Bastidas said.

Lily McCormick won a Gold Key for her sports action photo, “Whoop, there it is,” showing volleyball team members Preslie Boswell, Sophia Bastidas, Darielle Cyphers and Amanda Biscoe gathering together after winning the second set of the their road match at LBJ.

Design by Kennedy Schuelke and Elena Henderson
The front endsheet contains short bios about the Knights featured on the front cover of the 2018 Knight, Beyond Blue. The bios introduce each person and explain how they represented the 2018 yearbook theme by going beyond the campus.

Co-editor in chief Kennedy Schuelke also won a Gold Key in the Personality Profile category for the inside-cover feature profiles about the students featured on the 2018 yearbook cover.

Madison Olsen
HAPPY HEE: Junior Rally Telano and senior Leah Cantu find each others “true laugh” before the Crockett game at House Park. To find your true laugh you lay on your back and put pressure on your chest to force out the true laugh. “All the trainerswere playing a game to have fun before the actual game,” Cantu said. In that actual game, the Knights caged the Cougars, 55-0, for their eight victory on the season. Senior Max Perez ran for 116 yards andthree touchdowns and passed for another 103 yards and a score. Senior Alexander Julian led all Knight rushers with 117 yards and two touchdowns. Photo by Madison Olsen.

To see all of the national first, second and third place winners, click here.